The Hoogendoorn Award 2021 has been awarded to Dr. Sina Tajfirooz

Dr. Sina Tajfirooz is the winner of the 2021 KIVI Hoogendoorn Award for her PhD thesis in Fluid Mechanics.

The jury for the Hoogendoorn Award 2021 comprised of Professor Arthur Veldman (RU Groningen; chair), Professor Wolfgang Schröder (RWTH Aachen) and Tim Peeters (Tata Steel).

They have selected Dr. Sina Tajfirooz for his outstanding PhD research in the area of Fluid Mechanics. He defended his PhD thesis on the 22nd of Feburary, 2022 at Eindhoven University of Technology. His promotor was professor Hans Kuerten and his co-promotor was Dr. Jos Zeegers. His research was performed in the research group of Power and Flow at Eindhoven University of Technology.

The title of his PhD thesis was: Numerical Methods for Dynamics of Particles in Magnetized Liquids.

The Hoogendoorn Award will be awarded to Dr. Sina Tajfirooz at the Burgers Symposium, which will be held on 8 – 9 June 2022 in Lunteren.


The Hoogendoorn Award is the award for the best PhD thesis on Fluid Mechanics in the Netherlands and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the J.M. Burgerscentrum (JMBC). More information can be found here.