Dr.ir. Joris Oosterhuis wins the 2016 Hoogendoorn Award for his PhD thesis in Fluid Mechanics

The winner of the "Hoogendoorn Award for Fluid Mechanics" for 2016 is: Dr. ir. Joris Oosterhuis. He got this award due to his outstanding PhD research.

His PhD thesis is named: Oscillatory flows in jet pumps: towards design guidelines for thermoacoustic applications.

His thesis supervisor was Professor Theo van der Meer and his research was done for the faculty of Engineering Techonology of the University of Twente.

The Hoogendoorn Award will be awarded to dr. ir. Joris Oosterhuis at the 2017 Burgers Symposium, which will be held on the 30th and 31st of May.

To read more about his thesis, click here.


The Hoogendoorn Award is an award for the best PhD thesis on Fluid Mechanics and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the J.M. Burgercentrum (JMBC). More information can be found here.