Get updated on everything that happened during the yearly celebration of science at the TU/e, the TU/e Research Day.

Research day
The Research Day started with an inspiring interactive keynote titled "Shaping the Future with AI." This captivating hour under supervision of Carlo van de Weijer was dedicated to showcasing the groundbreaking AI research happening right here at our university and celebrating EAISI’s fifth anniversary.


All winners of the 2024 Research Awards. From left to right: Beatrice Federici, Francesca Grisoni, Marc Geers, Vincent Debets, Calum Ryan and Tugce Martagan.

The redeeming word is out for the nominated researchers. The proud winners of the six TU/e Science Awards 2024 were announced by Max Birk, who himself received the award for Young Researcher last year. For the top winners have a look at the site of the TU/e.


No fewer than two honorary doctorates were awarded on the Blauwe Zaal stage. Martin van den Brink (ASML) and Karen Scrivener (EPFL) received these special recognitions for their scientific contributions in their fields. It is an annual tradition to honor people outside the university for their major scientific contributions and pioneering work.

Karin Scrivener
As a professor and the head of the Laboratory of Construction Materials at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Karen Scrivener is one of the most prominent and influential researchers in the field of cement and concrete with more than 300 scientific publications.
Her most important contributions are an understanding of the microstructure, hydration mechanisms and durability of cementitious materials and, in particular, the invention of LC3 technology (limestone calcined clay cement) that enables a reduction of the CO2 intensity of cement by up to 40 percent. This technology is now being deployed by companies in over 50 countries.

From left to right: Theo Salet (dean of the department of Built Environment), Jos Brouwers (professor of building materials), Karen Scrivener and rector Silvia Lenaerts.

Martin van den Brink
ASML owes its technological successes primarily to the visionary leadership of Van den Brink, who joined the company in 1984. Van den Brink – until recently, the former CTO and former president of ASML – is a leader in systems engineering with an inspiring style that demands the very best from himself and his employees.
He made a crucial contribution to the production of the latest generation of (EUV) semiconductor manufacturing machines when almost no one believed that it could succeed. His work and vision continue to have a profound influence on the entire manner in which ASML innovates and will continue to be the guiding force with which the chip machine manufacturer maintains its lead over the competition.

From left to right: Patrick Anderson (Dean department of Mechanical Engineering), Martin van den Brink, Maarten Steinbuch (Professor of Control Systems Technology) and rector Silvia Lenaerts.

Read the interview with Karen Scrivener
Read the interview with Martin van den Brink

TU/e Research Expo – meet & mingle with our researchers
In the afternoon, you could immerse yourself in the wonders of our Research Expo in the Auditorium. Our esteemed research institutes unveiled their latest discoveries and innovations. 

Source: TU/e newssite
Photos: Bart van Overbeeke