The Biezeno Award 2017 has been awarded to Dr. Hayo Hendrikse

The "Biezeno Award for Solid Mechanics" for 2017 has been awarded to Dr. Hayo Hendrikse. The jury was composed of Professor Dick van Campen (TUE, chair), Professor Bob Svendsen  (RWTH Aachen) and Dr. Frans Klever (Well Design Engineering) and proposed to nominate Dr. Hendrikse because of the high quality of the work, realized with a high level of independence and originality. He received his PhD degree with the cum laude distinction.


Hayo’s PhD thesis is titled: Ice-induced Vibrations of Vertically Sided Offshore Structures'

His thesis supervisors were Professor A.V. Metrikine and Professor S. Løset and his research was done at the department of Civil Engineering of the Delft University of Technology.

The Biezeno Award was awarded at the 20th Engineering Mechanics symposium which was held in Papendal on October 24th, 2017 .

Dr. Hayo Hendrikse being awarded his price

The Biezeno Award is the award for the best PhD thesis on Solid Mechanics in the Netherlands and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the Graduate School of Engineering Mechanics (EM). More information can be found here.