The Hoogendoorn Award 2018 has been awarded to Dr. Yasin Toparlar

Dr. Yasin Toparlar is the winner of the 2018 Hoogendoorn Award for his PhD thesis in Fluid Mechanics.

The jury for the Hoogendoorn Award 2018 comprised of Professor Arthur Veldman (RU Groningen; chair), Dr. Jo Jansen (Unilever) and Professor Wolfgang Schröder (RWTH Aachen).

They have selected Dr. Yasin Toparlar for his outstanding PhD research in the area of Fluid Mechanics. He defended his PhD thesis cum laude on 25th of April 2018 at Eindhoven University of Technology. His promotors were professors Bert Blocken, GertJan van Heijst and Dr. Bino Maiheu (VITO, B) and the research was performed at the Department of Built Environment of the Eindhoven University of Technology.

The title of his PhD thesis is:  A multiscale analysis of the urban heat island effect: from city averaged temperatures to the energy demand of individual buildings.

The Hoogendoorn Award will be awarded to Dr. Yasin Toparlar at the Burgers Symposium 2019, which will be held on 21 – 22 May 2019.


The Hoogendoorn Award is the award for the best PhD thesis on Fluid Mechanics in the Netherlands and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the J.M. Burgerscentrum (JMBC). More information can be found here.