The Hoogendoorn Award 2017 has been awarded to Sander Haase. Sander Haase is the winner of the 2017 Hoogendoorn Award for his PhD thesis in Fluid Mechanics

The jury for the Hoogendoorn Award 2017 comprised of Professor Anton van Steenhoven (TUE), dr. Jo Jansen (Unilever), Professor Wolfgang Schröder (RWTH Aachen) and Professor Arthur Veldman (RUG).

They have chosen Dr. ir. Sander Haase, who has been selected because of his outstanding PhD research in the area of Fluid Mechanics. He defended his PhD thesis cum laude on 4 November 2016 at the University of Twente. His thesis supervisor was Professor Dr. Ir. Rob Lammertink and the research was done at the faculty of Science and Technology of the University of Twente.

The title of his PhD thesis is:  Transport near Slippery Interfaces.

The Hoogendoorn Award will be awarded to dr. ir. Sander Haase at the Burgers Symposium 2018, which will be held on 5 – 6 June 2018.


The Hoogendoorn Award is the award for the best PhD thesis on Fluid Mechanics in the Netherlands and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the J.M. Burgercentrum (JMBC). More information can be found here.